• Our Vision
  • Our Team
  • Our History
  • Facilities
  • Booking an IMP Facility
  • Medical Undergraduate Program
  • How to Apply
  • Study in the IMP
  • Information Sessions
  • Resources
  • Student Research
  • Student Perspectives
  • Student Stories
  • Student Publications
  • Scholarship / Award Winners
  • Resources
  • Faculty Development
  • Faculty Resources
  • Clinical Faculty Appointments
  • Support the IMP
  • Volunteer Patients
  • Standardized Patients
  • Clinical Teaching Associates
  • Volunteer Opportunities for Physicians
  • Library Services
  • Technology at IMP
  • Contacts

    For an alphabetical listing of the Island Medical Program contacts, please go to the UVic Directory. For faculty contacts, please go to the Division of Medical Sciences research faculty directory.

    Location Key:
    MSB - Medical Sciences Building (at UVic) ICC - Integrated Community Clerkship (Duncan, BC)
    RJH - Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria, BC) CDH - Cowichan District Hospital (Duncan, BC)
    VGH - Victoria General Hospital (Victoria, BC) NRGH - Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo, BC)

    General

    Title Name Email Phone Fax Location
    MSB Reception Kaisha De Ochoa impsec1@uvic.ca 250-472-5500 250-472-5505 MSB 104
    RJH Reception/Facilities Clerk Amanda O'Connor imprjh@uvic.ca 250-519-1825 250-519-1549 RJH Coronation Annex Reception
    VGH Reception 250-370-8111 x15584 250-727-4149 VGH 2972
    ICC Reception 1-250-737-2063 1-250-737-2068 CDH
    NRGH Reception 1-250-739-5971 1-250-739-5997 NRGH 2063

    IMP Leadership and Support

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Regional Associate Dean, Vancouver Island (UBC)
    Head, Division of Medical Sciences (UVic)
    Dr. Bruce Wright
    brucewri@uvic.ca 250-472-5524 MSB 104B
    Assistant to the Regional Associate Dean Katie Gerritsen impadmin@uvic.ca 250-472-5524 MSB 104
    Assistant Dean, MD Undergraduate Education, Island Medical Program Dr. Laura Farrell
    lfarrell@uvic.ca 250-721-6598 MSB 104f
    Administrative Assistant to the Assistant Dean Alisha Lemmen/ Claire Abanto impfac@uvic.ca 250-721-6373 MSB 104
    Administrative Director (Media Contact) Lianne Peterson liannep@uvic.ca 250-472-5511 MSB 104a
    Financial Officer Ana Danut impfo@uvic.ca 250-721-7479 MSB 116
    Financial Clerk NA finclerk@uvic.ca 250-472-5541 MSB 104
    Development Manager Jody Kitts kittsj@uvic.ca 250-853--3245 EOW 253
    Development Officer Nicole Boulet nboulet@uvic.ca 250-721-6102

    UVicELL 166

    Student Affairs

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Assistant Dean, Student Affairs Dr. Fraser Black
    fblack@uvi.ca 250-472-5509 MSB 124
    Coordinator Kelly Arason karason@uvic.ca 250-472-5508 MSB 122

    Information Services

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Student Research Coordinator Dr. Paul Zehr pzehr@uvic.ca 250-721-8379 MAC A358
    Librarian Rebecca Raworth raworthr@uvic.ca 250-721-8269 UVic McPherson Library
    Admissions and Communications Coordinator Rhys Mahannah impadmcom@uvic.ca 250-472-5527 MSB 120

    Curriculum - Years 1 and 2

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Course Director, Foundations of Medicine (FMED) Dr. Ian Thompson

    ianbthompson@uvic.ca

    250-472-5517 MSB 114
    Interim Course Director, Clinical Skills (CS) Dr. Alexandre Henri-Bhargava 250-370-8111 x13419
    Course Director, Family Practice (FP) Dr. Lys Fonger fmdir@uvic.ca 250-472-5538 MSB 324
    Site Director, MEDD 419/429/439 (FLEX) Dr. Lisa Cairns 250-472-4102 MSB 324
    Site Co-Director, PBL/CBL & FMED Dr. Joana Gil-Mohapel jgil@uvic.ca 250-721-6586 MSB 249
    Program Manager Jennifer MacMillan jmacm@uvic.ca 250-472-5507 MSB 118
    Curriculum Administrator FMED/FLEX/MEDD Nicole Wells impcurr1and2@uvic.ca 250-472-5522 MSB 104
    Curriculum Administrator CS/FP Eleanor Good csfmpr@uvic.ca 250-519-1502 RJH 103
    Assessment and Evaluation Administrator Christy Schwarz cschwarz@uvic.ca 250-472-5523 MSB 214
    Curriculum/A&E Support Nikki Polischuk currsupp@uvic.ca 250-721-7206 MSB 104
    Program Support Year 1-4 Aleah Ross progsupp@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 X11347 RJH Coronation Annex

    Program Support A&E and Clinical Faculty Appointments

    Niobe Getty niobeg@uvic.ca 250-721-7224 MSB 104

    Curriculum - Years 3 and 4

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Course Director, Clerkships, Yr 3 Dr. Sam Stewart sjstew@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 x 15415 RJH 147
    Course Director, Electives, Yr 4 Dr. Amita Modi amodi@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 x 13715 RJH 113
    Course Director, PMP, Yr 4 Dr. Jody Anderson

    susan.anderson@viha.ca

    250-370-8111 x 13714 RJH 109

    Site Leader, Integrated Clerkship Cowichan Valley

    Dr. Maggie Watt

    drmwatt@gmail.com

    1-250-737-2064

    CDH

    Site Leader, Affiliated Regional Centre, Nanaimo Dr. Kim King kim.king@viha.ca 1-250-739-5970 NRGH 2063
    Site Leader, Campbell River and District General Hospital Dr. Anne Morrison Anne.Morrison@viha.ca 1-250-287-7441
    Program Manager Lynne Fisher llfisher@uvic.ca 250-519-1827 RJH 105
    Curriculum Administrator RJH Kristen Stanbridge asstprog@uvic.ca 250-519-1826 RJH 109
    Curriculum Administrator VGH Kim Brodie kbrodie@uvic.ca 250-727-4148 VGH 2970
    Program Assistant VGH Luisa Halsall lhalsall@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 x 15584 VGH 2972
    Assessment and Evaluation Administrator Elana Richard elanar@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 x 15592 VGH 2973
    Curriculum Adminstrator Integrated Community Clerkship (ICC) Cowichan Valley Stacey Taylor staceyt@uvic.ca 1-250-737-2063 CDH
    Program Assistant Central Island JoAnne Neustaedter joanne.neustaedter@viha.ca 1-250-739-5971 NRGH 2063
    On-call Scheduling (UG/PG) Ashley Macdonell ashley.macdonell@viha.ca 250-370-8111 x12410 RJH EMP

    Curriculum - All Years

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Regional Faculty Development Director, Vancouver Island Sarah Buydens sbuydens@uvic.ca 250-472-5526 MSB 126
    Faculty Development Coordinator Dr. Jane Gair jgair@uvic.ca 250-472-5543 MSB 320
    Faculty Development and Student Affairs Support Nicole Coutts facdev@uvic.ca 250-472-5502 MSB 104
    Patient Programs Coordinator Karen Primeau-Basi karenpri@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 X12386 RJH 146

    Simulation

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    Director, Centre for Interprofessional Clinical Simulation Learning Darin Abbey darin.abbey@viha.ca 250-519-7700 x13663 RJH 249
    Manager, Centre for Interprofessional Clinical Simulation Learning Anna Macdonald anna.patten@viha.ca 250-370-8111 x13431 RJH 226
    Simulation Support Janet White simsupp@uvic.ca 250-370-8111 x13432 RJH 226
    Simulation Technology Support Analyst Jeff Knight knightj@uvic.ca 250-472-5513 RJH

    Technical Support

    Title Name Email Phone Location
    UBC FOM VC Design Liaison Isaak Housden ihousden@uvic.ca 250-472-5506 MSB 329
    Technology Support Analyst Dave Cerilli dcerilli@uvic.ca 250-472-5513 MSB 161
    Technology Support Analyst Mike Quan mikeq@uvic.ca 250-853-3792 BEC 184
    Technology Support Analyst Elizabeth Heslop

    eaheslop@uvic.ca

    250-472-5513 MSB 161