• Our Vision
  • Our Team
  • Our History
  • Careers
  • Facilities
  • Booking an IMP Facility
  • Medical Undergraduate Program
  • How to Apply
  • Study in the IMP
  • Information Sessions
  • Resources
  • Student Research
  • Student Perspectives
  • Student Stories
  • Student Publications
  • Scholarship / Award Winners
  • Resources
  • Faculty Recruitment
  • Faculty Development
  • Faculty Resources
  • Clinical Faculty Appointments
  • Support the IMP
  • Volunteer Patients
  • Standardized Patients
  • Clinical Teaching Associates
  • First Patient Volunteers
  • Volunteer Opportunities for Physicians
  • Library Services
  • Technology at IMP
  • Professor recognized for contributions to IMP and medical education

    Jan 5, 2018 | Posted by: Rhys Mahannah

    jgmDr. Joana Gil-Mohapel, MEDD Course Co-Director and Master Teacher for the Island Medical Program, has received a Certificate of Merit from the Canadian Association of Medical Education (CAME).

    The objective of the award, as per the CAME website, is to “promote, recognize and reward faculty committed to medical education in Canadian medical schools.” More specifically, it recognizes those who’ve made a valuable contribution – in teaching, assessment, evaluation, leadership, course coordination, education, research, and so on – to the medical school for whom they work.

    “I’m honoured to have been nominated for this award,” said Gil-Mohapel. “Were it not for the IMP’s team, an extremely dedicated and hard-working bunch, I would not have been considered. So I’d like to take this opportunity to also acknowledge all that they’ve done. It’s really a shared success.”

    CAME, which started in 1987, recognizes medical education excellence across Canada. A total of thirty-nine individuals from all seventeen of Canada’s medical schools were chosen for the award. Besides Gil-Mohapel, two others – Dr. Brenda Hardie (Department of Family Practice) and Dr. Adam Peets (Critical Care Medicine) – were chosen from the University of British Columbia. All recipients were nominated by their peers.